Live Stream composer Andrew Waggoner’s new VIOLIN CONCERTO!

TONIGHT (MARCH 29 at 8pm ET):

The Syracuse University Symphony Orchestra will present a concert with guest violinist Michael Jinsoo Lim.

Lim has been praised by Gramophone for playing with “delicious abandon” and described as “bewitching” by the Seattle Times. Since 2009, Lim has been concertmaster and solo violinist of the Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra (“surely the best ballet band in America”– New York Times). Hailed by the Los Angeles Times as a “conspicuously accomplished champion of contemporary music” for his work as co-founder of the renowned Corigliano Quartet, Lim is also a member of Open End, a New York City-based ensemble specializing in new works and improvisation. Recent highlights include the world premiere of Andrew Waggoner’s violin concerto, written for Lim, and live performances on Danish Public Radio.

Polonaise from “Eugene Onegin” | Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Concerto for Violin | Andrew Waggoner (b. 1960)
I. Moderate; Broad, Anxious
II. Faster; Dogged
III. Slower (Solitary; Remembering)
Michael Lim, violin

Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88, B. 163 | Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
I. Allegro con brio
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace
IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Free and open to the public.

This event will be streamed live. Please note that the video player will not become active until immediately prior to the concert’s start time. CLICK HERE TO STREAM LIVE at 8PM ET.

*Text and information from the Syracuse University Website.